Blog Details

We are a 2 star hotel with rooms situated throughout 4 floors. The hotel has no lift due to the grade 2 listed building status meaning we can't make alterations to install one. We will of course, help with luggage though.

Our food is traditional and cooked using fresh produce of fish, meats, vegetables & dairy sourced from Scilly & Cornwall where possible. Our style is not nouvelle cuisine or a fancy Michelin Star type restaurant.

Our experienced staff offer excellent & attentive service, far beyond the normal expectations for a 2 star rated hotel

Our swimming pool is 8 metres x 4 metres and so neither small, or Olympic size! An unusual extra facility compared to even many other hotels. Its size is governed by available space, and is covered in and heated.

Our rooms are comfortable & furnished to the same standard. All are en suite with either bath, shower or both, and some are compact, hence the special offer lower tariff for these.

The hotel is situated in the centre of Hugh Town, at the quieter side and is ideally positioned for easy access to the harbour for inter island boats to the inhabited islands of Tresco, Bryher, St Agnes & St Martins.

I try to post regular photographs of the islands, and you can see more of the hotel in the photo galleries on the right hand side of the page.

If you would like to contact us please feel free to email or telephone:
bellrock.hotel@btclick.com Tel. 01720 422575

Saturday, 18 August 2012

Guest Review Extracted From TripAdvisor - Bell Rock Hotel St Mary's

“Cosy guesthouse feel”

Reviewed 15 August 2012 via mobile

A Small hotel generally relaxed atmosphere, with the exception of the stressy rude porter/waiter. Diffident manager. Very kind and helpful housekeeper and friendly female restaurant staff.
Bedrooms are very small.
Reception desk rarely attended.



Daniel Lawson, Manager at Bell Rock Hotel, responded to this review
17 August 2012
Thank you for your review, of which I am concerned as it appears you were not totally happy with the service you received whilst with us. It is a shame that you didn't bring to my attention any details you felt were not up to your expectations whilst actually here. Our welcome pack in every room does request this if guests have any issues, and obviously in this case I was not given the opportunity to try and rectify your grievances.
With this in mind, I would not say I am a 'diffident' person. I can only assume by that, you mean that I am not loud, brash and in guest's faces all the time, but instead prefer a more calming, considerate and courteous approach, and being there to help whenever needed.
Reception is manned daily, Monday to Saturday my myself 8am to 1pm (at least), and in the afternoons, our housekeeper has the phone (Sunday is also staffed). I am unsure what you mean as 'rarely attended'? We don't have a 'dedicated' full time receptionist as I fulfil this roll as well as being manager, with the help of my team in the afternoons and bar staff of an evening. If there is not someone on reception or bar, there is a phone on reception to buzz a staff member who will be no more than a few seconds away. Inevitably, there will be times that I am called away from reception, such as taking guests to rooms, making a coffee for a guest, or helping in the restaurant, but again not far away.
The hotel has 23 bedrooms, and is staffed by just 10 people who all multi task between departments. This helps us to keep tariff's lower, and also create consistency by helping the staff know what our guest's require throughout the hotel.


***Footnote***

I have to follow certain guidelines when responding to reviews left on TripAdvisor. One of which is not identifying the original reviewer (if known). I do have a pretty good idea of who may have left this review, and it is a real shame they didn't alert me to any issues they had whilst here. If it is who I think, I had bent over backwards for them and managed to pull a few strings to help arrange alternative transport for them when the Scillonian III ferry was cancelled due to rough seas and strong winds. Seats on flights were like gold dust!
Talking with them, it was their first short break visit to Scilly, and I don't think the islands on the whole were what they were really expecting.
I guess sometimes you just can't please everyone!